Productive Problems

Have you ever heard of OCD? Its and acronym for Obsessive Compulsive Disorder, which basically means that people become really worried about doing certain things.  In my favorite show there are a bunch of people who want to be doctors working in a hospital.  They had a patient who had OCD and he felt like everything needed to be counted.  One of the doctors, named Christina also had a form of OCD, but she was obsessed with always having the right answer.  WHen you are a doctor it is important to memories things about medicine so that you can help people.  In a way Christina and her patient were the same because they both had OCD but they used the obsession in different ways.  You can’t always choose what to be obsessed with in OCD, but it doesn’t have to be such a terrible thing if you understood it and applied it right.

For me I have a very addictive personality.  I have drank three cups of coffee a day since I was 14 (that’s 5 years).  I also love stories, either in books or in sitcoms.  I start watching/reading them and I just can’t stop because I just need to know what happens with the characters.  But at some point I decided that rather than let myself be addicted to something that isn’t good for me, like watching shows on the internet, I wanted to use it in a good way.  So I started writing stories and soon I needed to keep writing to find out what happened to those characters.  In the end, I had something to show for all the time I spent… plus it was fun! Now I hope to be an author who write novels for other people to read. 

I don’t think I could be a writer if my personality wasnt so addictive because I would work a lot slower.  And Christina (or any real doctor like her) probable wouldn’t be a doctor if they weren’t so obsessed with having things right.  So sometimes these personality “disorders” or quarks as I like to call them, can actually be kind of productive.  You can use them like a tool to accomplish something really great! Give it a try!

Leave a Reply

Scan YO’s info. to your phone!

