Just Friends?

We’ve all been there before.  You know this guy, and he’s just perfect for you.  He’s cute, funny, likes the same music as you, has the same interests, even has the same favorite color! You have loads of fun together, and you feel so comfortable around him. There’s only one problem…

He’s your best friend.

What do you do?
Do you tell him how you feel, and risk ruining a great friendship?
Do you wait for him to miraculously fall in love with you and sweep you off your feet one day?
Or do you do nothing at all, and worry constantly that he’s going to fall for some other girl?

I’ve been in this situation before. For a long time, I was set on option 3.  He would come to me and say, “I think I like this girl!” and I would tell him things like, “She has a bad reputation!” or, “Her? She’s ok I guess, I’ve never really liked her.” 
A lot of those girls didn’t have bad reputations, and some were even my friends.  I was being a bad friend to them, and to him, by saying the things that I did.

Eventually, I told him how I felt, but unfortunately my timing was a little off.  I waited until we had drifted apart, so I didn’t have anything to lose by finally opening up.  I found out that he had liked me too! At the beginning of our friendship, he had liked me just as much as I had.  However, he had no idea that I felt the same way, because I was too worried that he would find out!

So, whats the moral of this story? Guys can’t read our minds.
If you find yourself falling hard for your best friend, I would suggest you just go ahead and tell him! If he really is your best friend, he won’t let your feelings ruin the friendship, and there’s a chance he might like you just the same! You’ll never know until you try. 

Here’s a great article with some good advice on how to tell a friend that you want to be ‘more than a friend’
Click here!

Leave a Reply

Scan YO’s info. to your phone!

